Economically Weaker Section (EWS)

Economically Weaker Section

The economically weaker section (EWS) is the new section of the reservation for the people in India. This category does not include people that belong to the reserved categories such as SC/ST/OBC who are already able to take the benefits of reservation. Actually, It belongs to you if your family income is less than 8 lakh ₹.

The Government has decided to provide 10% reservation benefits under the Economically Weaker Section which belongs to the un-reserved category and has an annual family income of less than ₹ 8 lacks. This reservation is part of the general category and fulfills the required criteria.

What is the definition of an economically weaker section?

EWS stands for the Economically weaker section. It is a government-decided new reserved category from the part of the General category. This category does not include people that belong to the reserved categories such as SC/ST/OBC who are already able to take the benefits of reservation. As per the EWS category, A person can avail of a 10% reservation in Government jobs and in educational institutions or schools.

What is the eligibility for economically weaker sections?

These are the eligibility criteria for the EWS category.

  1. You should belong to the general category.
  2. You should not fall under the reserved category such as SC/ST/OBC.
  3. And Your family’s annual income should be less than 8 lac.
  4. Income shall also include income from all sources i.e. salary, agriculture, business, profession, etc. for the financial year prior to the year of application.
  5. If you or your family is the owner of a flat then the area of the flat should be less than 1000 square feet.
  6. If your family is the owner of any agricultural land then it should be less than 5 acres.
  7. Those owning a residential plot of over 100 square yards in a notified municipality.
  8. People owning a residential plot more than 200 yards in non-notified areas will also not be eligible.
  9. Those who are already benefiting from education and job reservations are under the social backwardness criteria.

What are the benefits for the economically weaker section?

These are the benefits that can be availed by the EWS categories-

  1. The persons belonging to EWSs who, are not covered under the scheme of reservation for SCs, STs, and OBCs shall get 10% reservation in direct recruitment in civil posts and services in the Government of India.
  2. Also 10% of reservations in educational institutions or admission to schools.

What is the process for getting EWS reservation?

The process for getting an EWS reservation is simple. You need to follow these steps-

  1. You have to get the EWS certificate from your local government authority (Tehsil).
  2. The certificate is called an ‘Income and Assets Certificate’.
  3. This is the proof to avail of the EWS reservation.
  4. There is no online method prescribed by the government for getting an EWS certificate.
  5. Hence, You need to go to your local Tehsil or any other local government authority.
  6. You will need additional documents such as
    • Aadhar Card,
    • Pan Card,
    • bank statements,
    • passport size photo, etc. along with the Income and Assets Certificate.
  7. The certificate looks like this as given below-
  8. The designated government officer will verify your documents and issue your EWS certificate.
EWS application form or certificate
EWS application form or certificate

How to apply for an EWS certificate?

If you are applying for admission to schools for your child then Your income certificate will work as an EWS Certificate. To know how to apply for an income certificate just visit our best post Income Certificate: How to apply online or offline.

Can I apply for school admission in the EWS category?

Yes, you can apply if you are under the unreserved category means the general category and have a low family income as per the prescribed limit. You can know more details on EWS school admissions just visit our best blog Delhi EWS/DG Admission for 23-24, Eligibility, Dates.

What is the history of EWS?

The Union Council of Ministers approved a bill that provides 10% reservation in government jobs and educational institutions for the EWS in the general category on 7 January 2019. The cabinet’s decision included that this would be over and above the already existing 50% reservation for caste categories, namely SC/ST/OBC.

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha passed the bill on 8 January 2019 and 9 January 2019.

On 14 January 2019, the bill came into execution. The amendment was done under articles 15(6) and 16(6) in the Constitution of India to allow the 10% reservation for the Economically Weaker Section (EWS).

Along with this, many state cabinets also approved the law and made announcements regarding their intentions to pursue the 10% reservation law in their respective States.

When to use an economically weaker section?

You should use an EWS reservation if you fall under the general category and your family income is as per the limit. If you are applying for a Government job or school admissions.

Is EWS better than general?

It can be differentiated on the basis of yearly family income. The EWS is for that section of the ‘General’ classes (not covered under OBC, SC, or ST) whose family income is below Rs. 8 lakhs. For General EWS, a 10% reservation in seats is provided. A general category person can apply for EWS if his family income is under the prescribed limit of 8 lac.

Does EWS include salary?

Yes, Income for the purpose to check eligibility shall include income from all sources such as salary, agriculture, business, profession, etc.

Faqs on the Economically weaker section

1. What is the full form of EWS?

EWS stands for Economically weaker section.

2. What is the meaning of family for the Economically weaker section?

The term “Family” for this purpose will include the person who seeks the benefit of reservation,
1# his/her parents
2# and siblings below the age of 18 years as also his/her spouse
3# and children below the age of 18 years.

3. What is the income limit for the economically weaker section?

Your income including family must not be greater than 8 lakhs per annum from all sources of income.

4. What would happen if somebody failed to get EWS certificate?

if you do have not an EWS certificate, the individual would not be considered EWS, and their seat would get canceled straight away.

5. Can SC/ST/OBC apply for an EWS certificate?

NO, the SC/ST/OBC can’t apply for the EWS certificate. Only those candidates belonging to the general category can apply for an EWS certificate.

6. Can a government employee make EWS?

Yes, if he fulfills the eligibility criteria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *